News & Updates

Teaching inorganic chemistry remotely

March 31, 2020
Posted in

VIPEr snake logo
This is a reminder of all of the great inorganic chemistry teaching resources on the VIPEr website.

Or for answers to real-time questions (“Does anyone have data for the Job’s method lab?”), consider joining the VIPErPit on Discord, where a hearty group of inorganic chemists are solving one another’s remote teaching challenges in real time.

Because in the midst of it all, as was pointed out in a recent VIPEr BITES blog by Betsy Jamieson:
I get by with a little help from my friends
Mm, gonna try with a little help from my friends. . . .

Checking in with Inorganic Folks!

March 28, 2020
Posted in

I wanted to both check in with everyone, and provide an update re: the San Francisco ACS meeting. At this point, we are proceeding as if the San Francisco meeting will occur, until we hear otherwise. The Plenary Awards session originally scheduled for Philly will occur on Monday morning in San Francisco. The Awards banquet will occur on Monday evening. If those of you who were originally scheduled to run a symposium in Philly, would like to re-schedule for a future meeting, we suggest that you re-apply using the appropriate form on the DIC Symposia Requests page.

I’m guessing that those who have never dealt with a crisis of this magnitude, are having a hard time dealing with the anxiety, fear, and stress associated with the chaos that has become our new normal . Having dealt with a health crisis of my own a number of years ago, I want to remind you of the fact that we will get through this, we are all in this together, and we will come out of this with a bigger appreciation for all of the wonderful things that life has to offer!  

Take care everyone. Stay healthy!

Julie Kovacs, Chair, ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry

Congratulations to Richard Brutchey

March 19, 2020
Posted in

Congratulations to Richard Brutchey, the 2020 recipient of the Inorganic Nanoscience Award!

ACS Corona Virus Action Plan

March 1, 2020
Posted in

Please check the website linked below for updates regarding the Philly ACS meeting

Corona Virus Action Plan

Congratulations Eric Shelter

February 28, 2020
Posted in ,

Congratulations to 2020 recipient of the Inorganic Lectureship, Eric Shelter! Way to go Eric!!












Don’t miss the awards session at Philly ACS!

February 21, 2020
Posted in

Imagine all of this year's ACS inorganic awardees in one place! Don't miss it!

ACS Awards in Inorganic Chemistry Plenary Session
Julie Kovacs, Presider and Organizer; S. A. Koch, N. S. Radu, Organizers
Monday Morning March 23, 2020 Section A Pennsylvania Convention Center Michael A Nutter Theatre

8:30 AM F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry sponsored by the F. Albert Cotton Endowment Fund. Synthetic Strategies to Produce Transition Metal Complexes Containing Reactive Metal-Ligand Multiple Bonds. Daniel J. Mindiola

9:00 ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry sponsored by MilliporeSigma. Colors and Shapes: Golden Inorganic Nanocrystals. Cathy J. Murphy

9:30 ACS Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry sponsored by Strem Chemicals, Inc. On Being A Quantum Inorganic Chemist: The Importance of Bonding In and Within Inorganic Chemistry. Bruce E. Bursten

10:00 ACS Award for Encouraging Women into Careers in Chemical Sciences. Infectiously Inorganic: Metallocentric And Mentoring-Centric View of Advancing Bioinorganic Chemistry at the Host-Pathogen Interface. Kathy J. Franz

10:30 Intermission.

10:45 Harry Gray Award for Creative Work in Inorganic Chemistry by a Young Investigator sponsored by the Gray Award Endowment. Molecular Chemistry of Halide Perovskites. Hemamala Karunadasa

11:15 ACS Award in the Chemistry of Materials sponsored by DuPont. Halide Perovskites: Unprecedented Opportunities (and Some Challenges) for semiconductor Design and Application. David B. Mitzi

11:45 ACS Award in Organometallic Chemistry sponsored by Dow. C-H Functionalizations Enabled by Boron Reagents and Transition Metal Complexes. Mitch R. Smith

Congratulations to Justin Wilson

February 20, 2020
Posted in ,

Congratulations to Justin Wilson for being selected as the 2019 Emerging Investigator in Bioinorganic and Medicinal Chemistry Lecturer, sponsored by Jonathan L. Sessler

Congratulations to Mitch Smith

February 20, 2020
Posted in , ,

Congratulations to Mitch Smith for being this year’s recipient of the ACS Organometallic Award

Mitch Smith

Hybrids Only! from C&EN and Brendan Burkett

February 19, 2020
Posted in

Image by comic artist Brendan Burkett

Source: C&EN; artist Brendan Burkett

Impressive Interview – from C&EN and Brendan Burkett

February 19, 2020
Posted in

Comic titled "Electrochemical job interview." Word balloon says"Impressive CV! And your references are all in order. Congratulations, you've got the job!"

Source: C&EN; artist Brendan Burkett