ACS Jonathan L. Sessler Award for Emerging Leaders in Bioinorganic and Medicinal Inorganic Chemistry

This award recognizes the accomplishments in bioinorganic or medicinal inorganic chemistry of investigators in their first five years of a tenure-track position, or an equivalent research appointment, with accommodations made for family, health or provider leaves, at a United States academic, national lab, or non-profit institution.

The individual recognized will receive an honorarium, an engraved plaque, registration for an ACS national meeting, and support for meeting travel and lodging costs.

Sessler Fellows will present their research at an annual ACS national  meeting in collaboration with the Division of Inorganic Chemistry meeting programming.

Fellows are to be nominated; self-nominations will not be accepted.

To nominate candidates for the fellowship, nominators will send a single pdf document containing the following elements:

  • The nominee’s name, current affiliation, and contact details.
  • Date of initial employment in current tenure-track position or research appointment.
  • Explanation of career leave, if any.
  • A list of no more than 10 of the nominee’s key publications.
  • A curriculum vitae.
  • A summary of the nominee’s research achievements as an independent investigator and description why he/she should be considered for the fellowship, a maximum 3 pages with at least 1 inch margins and a minimum 11 point font size.
  • Name, affiliation, and contact details of the person making the nomination.

Please visit the ACS award website for complete submission details.

Past Recipients

  • 2021 – Daniel Suess (MIT)
  • 2020 – Eszter Boros (SUNY Stony Brook)
  • 2019 – Justin Wilson (Cornell University)
  • 2018 – Alison Fout (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)