Congratulations to Nanoscience Award Winner Shana Kelley, and to Young Investigator Award Winners!


Shana O. Kelley, Professor at the University of Toronto, is the winner of the 2017 Inorganic Nanoscience Award, presented by the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry to honor excellent research. The award is sponsored by the University of South Carolina NanoCenter.

Kelley’s lab focuses on the use of inorganic chemistry to develop new metal- and semiconductor-based biofunctionalized nanomaterials and control their self-assembly into hierarchical structures for applications in biomedical technology. Her lab has pioneered the use of three-dimensional nanoarchitectures for ultrasensitive electrochemical sensors, as well as establishing magnetic nanoparticle platforms to identify, isolate, and rare cell types.

Kelley will receive the award, which consists of a plaque and $3,000, at the ACS national meeting in Washington DC in August.


Congratulations to the following Young Investigators! The awardees will be recognized for their accomplishments at the Washington, D.C. National ACS Meeting.

1. Brandon Barnett, University of California at Berkeley; Nominator: Joshua Figueroa (UCSD)

2. Ambika Bhagi-Damodaran, University of California at San Francisco; Nominator: Yi Lu (UIUC)

3. Yongping Fu, University of Wisconsin; Nominator: Song Jin (Wisconsin)

4. Kuangda Lu, University of Chicago; Nominator: Wenbin Lin (Chicago)

5. Jihye Park, Stanford University; Nominator: Joe Zhou (Texas A&M University)

6. Xiaoyan Tan, Rutgers University; Nominator: Michael Shatruk (Florida State University)

7. Anna Wuttig, MIT; Nominator: Yogi Surendranath (MIT)

8. Haolin Yin, Caltech; Nominator: Eric Schelter (Penn)