Christopher (Kit) Cummins Wins Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship Award

The ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry and Inorganic Chemistry are proud to announce Christopher (Kit) Cummins, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, as the winner of the inaugural Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship Award. Dr. Cummins was nominated by his peers for his creativity, rigor and record of research success in the field of inorganic chemistry. He will be presented with an award at a symposium in his honor at the fall ACS National Meeting, September 8-12, 2013 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Dr. Cummins’ research interests include small molecule activation, group transfer chemistry, and molecular recognition. His work has been recognized with numerous awards including the ACS Award in Pure Chemistry, the ACS F. Albert Cotton Award in Synthetic Inorganic Chemistry, the Alexander von Humboldt Research Award, the National Science Foundation Alan T. Waterman Award, and the Phi Lambda Upsilon National Fresenius Award. Dr. Cummins has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

View Selected Articles Authored By Christopher Cummins:

1.   µ-η66-Arene-Bridged Diuranium Hexakisketimide Complexes Isolable in Two States of Charge

Paula L. Diaconescu and Christopher C. Cummins

DOI: 10.1021/ic202163m

2.  Facile Synthesis of Zero-, One-, and Two-Dimensional Vanadyl Pyrophosphates

Diego Solis-Ibarra, Jared S. Silvia, Vojtech Jancik, and Christopher C. Cummins

DOI: 10.1021/ic200510y

3.  White Phosphorus Activation at a Metal-Phosphorus Triple Bond: a New Route to cyclo-Triphosphorus or cyclo-Pentaphosphorus Complexes of Niobium

Daniel Tofan, Brandi M. Cossairt, and Christopher C. Cummins

DOI: 10.1021/ic2014607

4.  Thermodynamic, Kinetic, and Mechanistic Study of Oxygen Atom Transfer from Mesityl Nitrile Oxide to Phosphines and to a Terminal Metal Phosphido Complex

Xiaochen Cai, Subhojit Majumdar, George C. Fortman, Luis Manuel Frutos, Manuel Temprado, Christopher R. Clough, Christopher C. Cummins, Meaghan E. Germain, Taryn Palluccio, Elena V. Rybak-Akimova, Burjor Captain, and Carl D. Hoff

DOI: 10.1021/ic2013599

5.  Family of Cofacial Bimetallic Complexes of a Hexaanionic Carboxamide Cryptand

Glen E. Alliger, Peter Müller, Loi H. Do, Christopher C. Cummins, and Daniel G. Nocera