Category Archives: News & Announcements

Travel Fellowship Announcement

U.S. National Committee’s Young Observer Program
48th IUPAC General Assembly and 45th IUPAC Congress
Busan, South Korea
August 6-14, 2015
The International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC), a worldwide leader in advancing the chemical sciences, is holding its 48th General Assembly (August 6-13, 2015) and its 45th Congress (August 9-14, 2015) in Busan, South Korea.
The U.S. National Committee for IUPAC is seeking outstanding U.S. scientists and engineers under the age of 45, with interests and expertise related to the working groups of IUPAC, to travel as Young Observers to South Korea. The USNC/IUPAC will provide travel fellowships of $2500 to successful candidates.
This Young Observer Program provides an excellent opportunity to become involved in the work of IUPAC, develop an international network of scientists and engineers, and represent your U.S. colleagues in the chemical sciences.
Successful candidates must:
  • Be a U.S. scientist or engineer under the age of 45, be active in chemical or chemical engineering research in academia, government, or industry. Applicants must be a U.S. citizen or U.S. Permanent Resident (Green Card Holder).
  • Have a specific interest in one or more of the business meetings and technical sessions that will be held in Korea.
  • Have a strong interest in collaborative work with scientists in laboratories outside of the United States.
  • Have an interest in continuing activities through the IUPAC organization.

Career scientist applicants should ideally have, but are not required to have, five years of independent research/work experience after the completion of their educational experience. In exceptional cases applications from graduate students and postdoctoral researchers will be considered.

Former YOs may apply for a maximum second YO experience. They must demonstrate how they have remained involved with IUPAC since their first experience.

2015 Young Observer Program Application Deadline is February 23, 2015.

For more information about the program and to apply, visit Questions about the program can be directed to




Election Results are in!

The newly elected 2015 DIC officers and their positions are:

Claudia Turro (The Ohio State University)

Executive Committee Member at Large:
Joshua S. Figueroa (University of California, San Diego)

Thomas R. Cundari (University of North Texas)

Alternate Councilor:
Paula L. Diaconescu (University of California, Los Angeles)

Bioinorganic Chemistry Subdivision Chair-Elect:
Serena DeBeer (Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion and Cornell University)

Coordination Chemistry Subdivision Chair-Elect:
Daniel Rabinovich (The University of North Carolina at Charlotte)

Nanoscience Subdivision Chair-Elect:
Sara E. Skrabalak (Indiana University – Bloomington)

Organometallics Subdivision Chair-Elect:
Christopher C. Cummins (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Solid State and Materials Subdivision Chemistry Chair-Elect:
Amy Lucía Prieto (Colorado State University)


Call for Nominations for the 2015 Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship

Call for Nominations for the 2015 Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship

Inorganic Chemistry and the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry are seeking nominations for the Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship, which will recognize an individual who has demonstrated creativity and impact in forefront research in inorganic chemistry, broadly defined.

Past awardees: 

2014 Professor Jeffrey R. Long, University of California, Berkeley

2013 Professor Christopher C. Cummins, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

The winner will receive:

  • An award plaque

  • $3,000 USD

  • Travel and hotel accommodations up to $1,500 USD to attend the 2015 Fall ACS National Meeting

Nominators should include:

  • Name, affiliation, and e-mail address of the nominee

  • Name, affiliation, and e-mail address of the nominator

  • Year and institution granting PhD of the nominee

  • Description of the nominee’s accomplishments (one page maximum)

  • List of key publications (maximum of 10) relevant to the nomination

Nominee must be 46 years of age or younger as of December 31, 2014.

The winner will be announced in early 2015 and the award will be presented at the Fall ACS National Meeting, August 16-20, 2015 in Boston, Massachusetts at a symposium in honor of the awardee.

Deadline for nominations: December 15, 2014. 

Send your nominations for the Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship to:

Call for Nominations for the 2014 Organometallics Young Investigator and Senior Investigator Fellowships

The Editor-in-Chief of Organometallics, the Division of Inorganic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society, and the Division of Organic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society are seeking nominations for the OrganometallicsYoung Investigator and Senior Investigator Fellowships. The objective is to honor individuals who have had a major impact on scientific research in organometallic chemistry.

Continue reading