Welcome to the ACS DIC Webpage!

News:  Inorganic Nanoscience Award to Raymond Schaak

Raymond E. Schaak, the DuPont Professor of Materials Chemistry at the Pennsylvania State University and an Associate Editor at ACS Nano, is the winner of the 2016 Inorganic Nanoscience Award, presented by the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry to honor excellence in research. The award is sponsored by the NanoCenter at the University of South Carolina.

Professor Schaak is well-known for his creative work in synthetic inorganic nanochemistry. His work provides new paradigms for the design and synthesis of complex inorganic nanostructures by employing the concept of retrosynthetic design, which historically has been limited to molecular systems. This is coupled with the concept of colloids as “artificial molecules” to provide a total synthetic framework toward inorganic nanomaterials. Target materials are finding applications in catalysis and energy conversion and storage.

Representative manuscripts include:

C.G. Read, T.R. Gordon, J.M. Hodges, R.E. Schaak, “Colloidal Hybrid Nanoparticle Insertion Reaction for Transforming Heterodimers into Heterotrimers,” J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2015, 137, 12517-12517. DOI: 10.1021/jacs.5b08850

E.J. Popczun, C.G. Read, C.W. Roske, N.S. Lewis, R.E. Schaak, “Highly active electrocatalysis of the hydrogen evolution reaction by cobalt phosphide nanoparticles,” Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2014, 53, 5427-5430.  DOI: 10.1002/anie.201402646

M.R. Buck and R.E. Schaak, “Emerging Strategies for the Total Synthesis of Inorganic Nanostructures,” Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2013, 52, 6154-6178.  DOI: 10.1002/anie.201207240

Schaak will receive the award, which consists of a plaque and $3,000, at the ACS national meeting in Philadelphia in August.

News: Prof. Dr. Serena DeBeer Wins 2016 Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship Award


The Division of Inorganic Chemistry represents a diverse body of scientists who come together to understand and promote the richness of the chemistry of the elements. Molecular biologists, materials scientists, and many types of chemists are members of this division. Due to the diversity of interests among our members, four subdivisions are available for membership in addition to the general membership in the Division.

The Division has several responsibilities: the development and coordination of programming of interest to our members at national meerings; continuing improvement in the education of current and future chemists in the beauty of inorganic chemistry and the value of chemistry in general; representation of our members’ interests to the ACS through the election of Councilors and other positions; and maintaining the fiscal health of the Division to support all other activities. The Division usually has one of the largest technical programs at the national meetings.

The goals of the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry

  1. To advance the science of Inorganic Chemistry.
  2. To provide an organization within which close contact among chemists interested in Inorganic Chemistry can be maintained.
  3. To arrange programs dealing with Inorganic Chemistry for the National Meetings of the ACS.
  4. To organize and conduct symposia on special topics in Inorganic Chemistry at times and places designated by the Executive Committee of the DIC.
  5. To promote the teaching of Inorganic Chemistry at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Areas of chemistry in which the Division’s activities are focused:

  1. Organometallic Chemistry. Includes the synthesis, characterization, and reactivity of main group, transition metal, and rare earth organometallic compounds, and the applications of such compounds in organic synthesis, inorganic synthesis, and catalysis.
  2. Bioinorganic Chemistry. Includes all aspects of the chemistry of the metallic elements and small inorganic molecules in biological systems.
  3. Solid-State and Materials Chemistry. Includes the synthesis, characterization, and physical and chemical properties of solids that contain metallic and/or main group elements.
  4. Coordination Chemistry. Includes the synthesis, characterization, and physical and chemical properties of classical coordination compounds.
  5. Nanoscience. Includes the synthesis, characterization, and physical and chemical properties of nanostructured materials (inorganic nanocrystals, inorganic-organic hybrid materials etc.).


 History of the founding of the Division of Inorganic Chemistry

See:  A History of the Division of Inorganic Chemistry, American Chemical Society by John C. Bailar, Jr. in Journal of Chemical Education, volume 66, number 7, July 1989, pages 537-545 (DOI: 10.1021/ed066p537).



ACS DIC is now on Facebook! Please “Like” us to receive updates and announcements.